Losing Momentum


image

Oh life. I am usually passionate about pursuing you but sometimes I think you try to wear me down.

I have been riding, but not enough. I took a rest day last week, the day after a bug sent me home from work. I snuck a 50 min ride in last Friday, but it barely felt like a warm up. And Wednesday Gail and I made it out for a fast 22 miles before she had to run to work. So yes, I’ve been riding, but somehow I feel like I’m backpedaling.

And as I write this, I am again, the victim of a bug. I toughed out the day at work, but haven’t felt this nauseous since I was pregnant. I’ve spent a good deal of the day in the restroom. And my stomach just keeps its gurgle, stab, gurgle dance going.

Tomorrow I have the day off, and originally, I planned on riding in the morning. Now I’m not so sure. I am doing little 20 mile rides when I want to be banking 30, 40, 50 or more miles a shot. Not enough time, bad weather, stomach viruses, flat tires, and its only May.

Here’s hoping for a calm tummy in the morning.

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Losing Momentum”

  1. Leah says :

    So frustrating. Hope you’re feeling better.

  2. Karen says :

    Ha! It got better! Just about 3 hours after I posted this, my son woke up with a 102.5 fever and we were up all night. Fever broke at 6AM. So did I. No riding this weekend at all. I have to remind myself it’s only May. There’s always next week!

Leave a Reply

