2010 Cycling & Fitness Goals, Resolutions


Sigh. 

Fine.  I’ll tell you what’s on my mind for 2010.  I thought about doing this post, then not doing it, for a couple of weeks now.  I think it was mostly because I was trying to figure out exactly what I wanted to accomplish in 2010 with regard to fitness & cycling.  I think now I have a pretty good idea.

1.) 2500 miles on the bike.  I did 2000 in 2008, and last year, only 1000.  Time to kick it up.

2.) Participate in my 4th LIVESTRONG Challenge.  I’m signed up and collecting donations here.  I’m doing the 70 mile leg.

3.) Participate in at least 1 multisport event.  I’m all but signed up for the Rockbuster Offroad Duathlon on April 25th in Ashland, MA.  This is a repeat of the Mud, Sweat & Gears event I did last October.  I’m hoping my brother & a few friends will join me this time.

4.) And this is the crowing jewel, the event I’m really primed for….participate in my first Warrior Dash.  More on this event later, let’s just say if there’s a race involving barbed wire,  hurdling open flames, and free beer, I’m there.  The only thing preventing me from doing this is a work related conference that is historically scheduled at about this time of year annually–in September.  My company bagged the conference last year because of the economy.  I’m guessing they’ll need to see the 4th quarter results before deciding to do the conference in 2010. 

I’ll need to keep up with the running in order to swing the duathlon and the Warrior Dash.  How I’m going to log that many miles on the bike AND keep running with my schedule, I have no idea.  But the thing about goals is that you may not meet them, but end up accomplishing equally great other things along the way. Last year I was intent on doing a century ride.   I never did.  But I did the duathlon and really had a blast. I also started a Ladies Mountain Biking Group Ride and met some great new friends.  I plan to continue that in 2010 (email me at my About Karen page on this site for more info).

So there you have it. What do you plan to do with your year?

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

4 responses to “2010 Cycling & Fitness Goals, Resolutions”

  1. Heather says :

    Better check to see they have light beer at the warrior dash.

  2. jpo says :

    > What do you plan to do with your year?

    Still fleshing out my 2010 goals (current list is here: http://is.gd/5K8bl). Would be happy with about the same level of mileage as 2009, but would like to improve speed a bit.

  3. Century Training says :

    I have just been through the same thinking process for 2010 goals. Normally I find it really easy, but somehow this year I’m lacking inspiration. Or maybe it’s that my real goals a very BIG and perhaps just a bit intimidating ??

  4. Karen says :

    I know what you mean. One day at a time, I suppose. Some days I waffle about doing the training, and then I just have to make the decision to just do it (like nike). I try not to think and just do.

Leave a Reply

