Flirting With Athena



Athena Statue

Originally uploaded by sipclip&go

Sorry boys, it’s not that kind of post.

What I’m talking about is chosing a category when I registered for the Mud Sweat & Gears Duathlon. Signing up is a fairly simple process. But you must categorize yourself so they can place you with “like” competitors. This isn’t a hardcore race–it’s managed by FIRMrace management. I didn’t have to deal with Cat 3 or Cat 2 assessments–stuff I don’t really know about anyway. So when you sign up, you can sign up as a team or individual, a male or a female, and then by age group or weight class. Men over 200lbs are known as Clydesdales, women over 150lbs are Athenas.

I considered my last visit to the scale.

I was a breath away from Athena, stark naked. Certainly in clothing I was very much Athena. Last winter I was safely in a non-Athena zone, but with all the riding and running, I’ve put on muscle (that’s what I keep telling myself) and I crept back up to my pre-pregnancy weight from more than 5 years ago.

I’m not a small woman and never have been. At one point I played center on the basketball team. I have a lot of natural muscle, & height, but admit to a belly I’d rather not have. But Athena? I decided some research was in order.

Athena was the Greek Goddess of Wisdom, Peace, Warfare, Purity, Strategy, Handicrafts and Reason. She’s often depicted in warrior attire with a spear and shield. She is one of the three virgin goddess, and born of Zeus only, with no mother (that must have been a neat trick).

OK, Athena sounds pretty cool (except for the virgin part–I couldn’t hack that)– but I could embrace my inner Athena. I have a fairly decent body image for most women I know my age, and feel good about my fitness and health. Because you can be over 150 lbs and be fit and health AND female. Right?

Now, to try and get back to 145…..

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Flirting With Athena”

  1. Leah says :

    Athena is cool. 🙂 Plus better chance for a medal!

Leave a Reply

