Whoo hoo, blood on a road ride!


Parallel

Something look wrong to you in that photo? I thought the same thing just as my front wheel went into an open space on the storm grate. Next thing I know the world is spinning and then I’m on my ass. The nice gentleman who stopped to make sure the bike and I were all right said the crash was “youtube worthy.” Damn, an me without a helmet cam. The obvious “injuries” to the Specialized were the right hood was knocked out of alignment, and the front tire was flat, of course. I figured while I fixed the flat, I might as well have an officer come over to see the problem. My current status is a scuffed up elbow, small laceration on the knee (I’m expecting some good bruising, photos to follow if I get decent ones), and a sore shoulder. It could have been a lot worse. Here’s what one’s elbow looks like when it is used to break a fall:

Something has to hit

Ride stats

Distance: 24.3 miles
Temperature: 76˚
Ride category: Practicing my tuck & roll skills while still attached to the bike.

Heather

P.S. My local Walgreen’s was having a great sale on reusable ice packs, buy one, get one free. In case anyone else is in need of extras.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Whoo hoo, blood on a road ride!”

  1. jpo says :

    Ouch! Can’t believe that storm grate. Where is this located?

  2. Heather says :

    Rt. 10 in Northfield, about a 100 yards before the entrance to Pioneer Valley High School (heading from Northfield into Gill). As of this morning when I had an officer check, it was still that way. It is now marked by an orange cone.

  3. Chuckster says :

    turns out, you’re not alone . . .

    http://www.seattlepi.com/transportation/347205_drains14.html

    Cyclists want action on dangerous storm drains
    Grates parallel to roads can catch bike tires, cause crashes

    Cyclists want action on dangerous storm drains
    Grates parallel to roads can catch bike tires, cause crashes

    But Schaefer claims he knows what caused the 2004 accident near the Washington Park Arboretum: His bike tire got stuck in a drainage grate with slots parallel to the roadway.

    Seattle Public Utilities officials estimate there are between 70,000 and 80,000 grates throughout the city. Some have vertical slots such as the one in Schaefer’s accident. Others, including all replacements, have designs that make it unlikely bike tires can get stuck.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Back in, and out of, the saddle « Sip, clip, and go! - June 23, 2009

Leave a Reply

