Defining a SCAG Bike Rider


Heather speaks in acronyms. She uses a military-style vocabulary fitting with her chosen profession of serving and protecting. When we came up with the heading for our blog: Sip, Clip, and Go! it was meant to embody our spirit and love for riding bikes. We’re ready to go. Sip the water bottle, clip in, and just go. Yeah, that’s where it’s at. That’s us.

It was a natural progression for Heather to start calling the blog “SCAG.” I quickly followed her lead referring to ourselves as the “ladies of SCAG,” and rides with Heather as riding with a “SCAG Board Member.” We were playing on words, being cute.

Tonight as I was viewing stats on wordpress, a keyword search caught my eye: the keywords in question were: scag girls. Have we become that notorious? Hopefully, I thought, and googled the same phrase. What I got I was not expecting.

The first hit, was in fact, our blog. Heather & I both have become quite good at exercising SEO techniques. The second hit was for an urban dictionary site, which gave us a less desirable description.
SCAG: A formerly disreputable and often disheveled, wrinkly, and miserable worn-out dust rag of a woman, typically embittered about how unkind the aging process has been to them. *

Well that sums it up nicely, doesn’t it? I was a little horrified when I first discovered that we had chosen an acronym that identifies us in such a way. But then I got to thinking. We are, in fact, middle aged women. We are at times disheveled. Maybe half of us is formerly disreputable…and what middle aged woman do you know who isn’t “embittered by how unkind the aging process has been to them?”

I’m thinking that embracing my identity as a SCAG woman is appropriate. I ride my bike to fight the aging process, to feel young, and when covered in mud and sweat, I am dishelved. I am SCAG. Who are you?

-Karen

*note:  SCAG also is a street term for heroin.  I feel so out of touch.  I need to start watching more cop shows to feel like I’m not so old….er…I mean like not such a scag.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Defining a SCAG Bike Rider”

  1. Leah says :

    Ha! That’s pretty funny. It’s one of those things, though, that you can reclaim and make your own. And you’ve pretty much already done that! (Btw, I always thought the ‘sip’ referred to coffee…)

    • Karen says :

      originally sip did refer to coffee, but I find we moved away from blogging about that. I should just start blogging about gatorade to make the swithc complete (although I don’t do a thing until I have my coffee….)

Leave a Reply

