Entering Ware (Where?)


I took Friday off and did a 38 mile out & back, which brought me through 4 towns, Ware being the outermost of those towns. I cruised through the backroads of South Hadley, Granby, Belchertown and then hit route 9 past two of the Quabbin entrances and over the Swift River. I turned around at the Quabbin Cemetery, which is supposed to be where many of the graves of the 4 towns they uprooted to create the Quabbin were relocated to. It’s a still, beautiful cemetery set up on a small hill through the trees. Typically peaceful, but when I stopped to take a couple pictures and call Sheri, a nearby auto body garage was blaring “Ain’t That Tough Enough” by the Fabulous Thunderbirds on a constant loop and that echoed through the stillness of the dead. Kinda fitting. kinda Twilight Zone. It didn’t let me rest for long…I hate that song.

The hills out on route 9 were long and tall, and I felt myself working. I wanted to make the ride an even 40, but didn’t bring enough food. My stomach pedaled home.

I’m not feeling confident that I’ll be ready for a century in one month. This was the first ride I’ve had in 15 days. Work has been intense, and a bad, bad cold sidelined me for some time. I look at the calendar for the next 28 days and it’s hard to find times to ride. The trainer isn’t cutting it–I need to do some real cycling, outdoors, preferably 3-4 times a week. I see 1-2 being more realistic. Can I work my way up to 100 miles in just 4-8 more rides? Well, can I?

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Entering Ware (Where?)”

  1. Leah says :

    I think probably yes. You have many miles in your legs even if they aren’t from this year. You may not feel fantastic on the century, but you’ll be able to do it. Don’t give up! (Or do, if you’re not that into it.) 🙂

  2. Karen says :

    yeah, it’s probably a matter of will at this point. My brother’s doing it with me, but he’s logged only 50 miles this year so far. He’s in great shape, but beefy–more like Schwarzenegger than Armstrong. I may go with the 60 mile option. I’ll have to see how I feel in a month.

  3. Glenn_in_MA says :

    I’m betting you can do the 100 for exactly the reason Leah mentions. If you can get both a 50 and 60 miler in before the event I think you’ll be in good shape.

Leave a Reply

