If It Bleeds….


I had a terrific ride today, 35 miles to the Quabbin Reservoir and back.  2 1/2 hours of sunshine and a million blog posts circling my head as I enjoyed the warm up from 45 degrees to 65 in that short span of time.  But there’s an old saying in journalism that helped me decide on what to write about today.

I haven’t been taking my camera along with me when riding lately.  I think I’m bored with my routes, and by now, you should be too.  But I went a little further today and brought the Olympus Stylus 790 SW along.  I’m glad I did.  Because after reaching the Quabbin and turning around for the 15 miles home, I ran across this:

pool of blood on road

pool of blood on road

I was amazed at the amount of blood, still quite fresh I might add, just pooled roadside.  The crimson tire tracks away from the pool told the tale, along with the tufts of course white hair matted into the blood and on the bank of the road.  Since it was the Quabbin, which supports a rich variety of wildlife, my guess is a deer got clipped.  There was a break in the woods just adjacent to where the accident had happened, a large clearing of meadow lands.  I imagined that deer had somehow scrambled into the clearning and lay dying nearby.  More likely I think an industrious DCR worker happened upon the scene, which was just a 1/2 mile from the park entrance, and is dining on venison this evening.  Nonetheless, it was a disturbing image for anyone using the road relatively unprotected, especially someone on a bicycle. 

Poor deer.

Be careful riding.  And driving. 

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

3 responses to “If It Bleeds….”

  1. jpo says :

    > I think I’m bored with my routes

    Try a round-Quabbin route. One of my goals last year was to do a circumnavigation, and it was a blast. Lots of variety in the scenery and terrain.

  2. Karen says :

    I know they have a annual ride around the Quabbin–I think it’s a century, and quite hilly. I live about 15 -20 miles from the reservoir so an out & back suits me. I’m going to have to start driving to the park entrance and go from there for a little variety.

  3. Leah says :

    Wow, that is quite a sight to come across during a ride.

Leave a Reply

