101 Miles in May


Today I got a cue sheet from my brother, who has agreed to ride a century ride with me.  It’s a first for both of us; he got his first official road bike last year and raised money doing the Positive Spin for ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease) riding 60+ miles.  As many of you know, I’ve participated in the LIVESTRONG Challenge for the past three years.  Charity rides are definitely a great way to unite in an athletic pursuit and fight for a good cause. 

This century ride is sponsored and organized by the Charles River Wheelman out of the greater Boston area.  Their Spring Century starts at Wakefield High School in Wakefield, MA (conveniently the next town over from my hometown, where my parents still live) and travels up the seacoast into New Hampshire and back.  No hills of size, and after LIVESTRONG last year, I’m imagining that will be a treat.  Plus, it’s only $12 to sign up….quite a small price to participate in an organized ride along the Atlantic seaboard.

My training isn’t exactly off to the greatest of starts.  I can’t seem to get out of the gate.  Last week I was off the bike all week with a house guest from out west.  This week I have lousy weather and social obligations that require my presence.  I’ve gained 5 pounds in the last month. The only thing that makes me feel any better is knowing that my brother is usually even busier than I am, and carries at least 70 more pounds than me.  Sure it’s all muscle, but who needs big guns when all you need are legs?

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

