A Break in the Weather



Along for the ride….

Originally uploaded by sipclip&go

Means I got to ride outside on Saturday.

And good thing, because a classic Nor’easter is bearing down on New England in the next 24 hours. But Saturday it was clear blue skies and bright sunshine. It was cold and fresh and brisk. I went out on one of my shorter loops, wondering how I’d respond to the colder temperatures (which I generally have trouble with) and the reduction in physical activity over this harsh winter. My legs were good. My lungs sucked and sputter the cold air, leaving me coughing and fluid filled, but nothing unmanageable. The hills weren’t harder than I left them late last fall….the same hills I always thought had somehow grown in size after a winter off the bike. I’ve lost very little fitness over this winter, and I credit the trainer (did I just say that?). And this is very, very good news because….um…..

Oh geez, if I publish it, I have to do it. So what the hell….

Because today, Sunday, is the first official day of my 12 week training schedule for my very first century ride. I really have no idea how I’m going to get to train for this with all this snow still in the pipeline. But I want to do a century, and I also am taking some classes at UMASS/Amherst come June 1. Since I’m already spread thin with working full time, raising a 4 year old son, and maintaining a home, I wanted to get that century under my belt before plunging back into academia after a 17 year absence.

One thing is for sure. I will not languish in 2009……

–Karen

Ride stats:
Distance: 15.4
MPH: 13.9
Temp: 36 F
Winds: 13MPH All headwinds. Just like life……

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “A Break in the Weather”

  1. jpo says :

    Which century?

  2. Karen says :

    I’m looking at this one from Wakefield MA to the NH Seacoast. It’s early–May 17th. Here’s the link:
    http://www.crw.org/SpringCentury.htm

    We just got another FOOT of snow. How I am going to really train for this I have no idea!

  3. Leah says :

    How exciting! Good luck with the training. I did a century once. It was torture… But I didn’t do a 12-week training plan. 🙂

  4. Marcela says :

    Busy bee eh? Good for you… it is always nice to read that you keep on riding and doing your things… I’ve been so busy and traveling that I don’t know when I am going to be able to do any riding… ah excuses… excuses…

Leave a Reply

