What I learned on my ride today


Unplanned night ride

You should never try to “save time” by not switching your bike lights out. The weather has been decent the last few days, and temps have been warm enough to melt a lot of the snow off the roads. So, I decided to take the Specialized Allez out for one last spin in 2008. My plan to make it home before it got too dark was not a success. The picture above is what it looked like outside when I got home. I am happy to say, and would like to thank profusely, all the motorists I came across gave me a wide berth and passed slowly. And none of them yelled out the obvious (“Idiot!”) as they went by. Temps were dropping, though, probably didn’t want to roll down a window. I am home safely, and enjoying my post ride snack. Sam Adams Winter Lager tonight. Cheers to a lesson learned.

Ride stats

Distance: 15.3 miles
Temperature: 30˚
Ride category: Skinny tires last ride for 2008.

Heather

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “What I learned on my ride today”

  1. Donder says :

    Hmmmm….what do your last two posts have in common?? ALCOHOL!!! I think you are already missing me so you have started to drown your sorrows. Tell your liver it is only three months!

  2. Heather says :

    Sigh. Busted. My only consolation? When you come back to days, it will almost be time for the BCC rides to start up again.

  3. Tamala says :

    And remember, I can follow the BCC in my car for your music listening pleasure and while I drink my iced coffee 🙂

  4. Tamala says :

    Does strapping a bike to my car and driving with a helmet on count?? I’ll be sure to have the “Chariots of Fire” theme song ready to go.

Leave a Reply

