Love Thy Trainer


I just had a great session on the trainer….words I never thought I could say…but when the roads are icy with snow & ice & sleet storms coming every 2 to 3 days, it’s a matter of loving what you have, and not what you want.

Cranking it on the trainer.

Cranking it on the trainer.

My training has been derailed due to work: an expected but unhappy by-product of my profession.  On the flip side I’ve been walking 9-12 miles a day–at work.  Yes, I’ve tracked this on the pedometer.  Hard concrete floor and dress shoes are an unfortunate combination, and my feet and lower legs have ached for the last 10 days.  Yet now I’m less that 5 miles from 2000, and 34 miles from Heather, who will probably read this and head out the door with her studded ice tires to bury me a little more.

So, one goal almost down, and then Heather falls into my sight line. 13 days left, and foul weather is predicted.  I wonder if  the threat of losing the bet will motivate Heather to climb on her trainer?

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

3 responses to “Love Thy Trainer”

  1. Leah says :

    12 miles at work? In dress shoes? Wow.

  2. Karen says :

    24,000 square feet and I’m ALWAYS moving this time of year. I literally run at times. Expedited service requires a lot of energy 😉 Plus I swear I’m always on one side of the building when the other side of the building calls and needs me, then the first side calls back. I’m a ping pong. Trust me, when it’s not xmas I’m sitting at my desk writing action plans and stuff like that. Much easier on the feet.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Perfect conditions « Sip, clip, and go! - December 19, 2008

Leave a Reply

