Two Goals, Twenty Days


Do you remember when Lance feigned weakness in the 2001 Tour de France…then turned around and gave Ullrich “the look” and kicked his ass?

2005-06-30-lance-look

I do.  And I’m reminded of it when I read about Heather being sick, and off the bike due to shoulder and back issues.  Hmmmm.  Makes me think.

I’ve known Heather for about ten years now, and words I use to describe her are strong, powerful, tenacious, crazy, and competitive.  She is the only woman to beat me arm wrestling.  And I’ve wrestled my share.  The woman considers her metal studded ice tires a fun bike accessory, while most of the world considers riding on them an extreme sport.  She’s freaking tough.

So when I see that I am a mere 25 miles away from the 2000 mile mark this year, and that Heather is resting at 2025 miles, I start to think I might actually be able to win this bet. Then I wonder when the sucker punch is coming.

So–twenty days left until a new year is upon us. A gift certificate to the LBS is up for grabs.  Who will win?  We all know how much both Heather & I like new gear.  Stay tuned…..

Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Two Goals, Twenty Days”

  1. Leah says :

    December 31 should be interesting… 🙂

Leave a Reply

