Stuck Inside


I have been operating under the “something is better than nothing” philosophy all year in regard to my training.  Strangely, I refer to my cycling as “training” yet I am not actually training for anything.  Yet.  LIVESTRONG has come and gone and after three years I’m ready for a new experience, although I’m happy to donate to the cause.  But I have a few things currently working against me, and it’s starting to take its toll.

1.) Work is CRAZY.  Sort of.  It calmed down again this week, the “calm before the storm,” yet I know all too well that by January 7th I’ll be a shell of a woman, beaten down by the American Consumer (recession or not).

2.) Less daylight.  This is just depressing, isn’t it?  It’s dark when I leave for work, it’s dark when I get home from work.  Can’t ride in the late afternoon/early evening–unless I want to do it by moonlight.

3.) Family/Friend stuff.  I have parent/teacher conferences, family get-togethers, My 20thHS Reunion, Thanksgiving, and Christmas– holidays I’d normally enjoy if it weren’t for my profession.  Here’s hoping Mom actually picks up all those bike catalogs I “forgot” at her house last weekend earmarked with post-it notes and gets me some much needed toe-covers for Christmas.

4.) Snow.  This hasn’t actually happened yet, but on my day off this week, snow is forecast.  High of 36.  36!  Where are those toe covers?!

I’m already making good use of my trainer, but it feels far too early for that.  I have come to appreciate the head-clearing quality of long outdoor rides.  Riding for 2 or 3 hours and having some mental break and recharge.  I have 110 miles to got before breaking the 2000 mile mark for 2008.  I must hit that number, even though when I began the year, I had no intent of setting a mileage goal.  All I wanted to do was beat Heather, but it really doesn’t look like that’s going to happen, unless I get a serious break of good weather and some responsibility-free time off.

Until then, it’s love thy trainer.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “Stuck Inside”

  1. leahflickinger says :

    I hear you on everything. I’m trying to hold on to perspective and remember that this is just a temporary down time. Our lives are what they are and we can only control so much. That said, I know you will hit that 2000 mark. It’s not even December yet. And just having that goal is great motivation!

Leave a Reply

