2 hours = 1 MPH


You know that expression “That drink went right to my head…”  Well those two hours went right to my legs. 

I got 8 hours of sleep last night.  This might not seem remarkable to most people, as this is the recommended allowance of sleep for human beings.  But 8 hours is very unusual for me.  I love sleep, but I hardly have time for it.  I usually get 6 hours on average, and this is an improvement from the 4-5 I’d get when my son was born until age two and 1/2.  So sleep is a commodity, and on the bike today, it paid off.

I had so much energy in my legs, I felt as if I floated through my ride.  My legs just responded to my wishes (instead of me playing this logic game with them to make them move me up a hill).  It was really, really something.  I had a blast, and felt invincible.  These are the times I actually think I could enter a race and do okay.

I know I shouldn’t be so amazed when things like eating well and drinking enough fluids and getting enough sleep result in an improved performance in just about everything I do; from riding my bike to doing my job to being a good mom.  But really–sometimes life can get so crazy–it’s good to just get back to basics.  My sustained average MPH jumped 1 whole mile from 14.4 to 15.4 for the same exact ride I did on Thursday.  Now if that isn’t proof, what is?

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

One response to “2 hours = 1 MPH”

  1. Leah says :

    Yeah, recovery and sleep make a huge difference. Especially sleep!

Leave a Reply

