Now, just add hills


Open road

The plan for today was to ride 65 miles. I found a 66 miler on the LBS site, and would improvise as needed. Oh yeah, I improvised all right. Today’s ride was the longest I have ever done on the bike. I enjoyed myself and the only goal was to finish under 7 hours. Even with the extra mileage I did that, coming in at 06:22:39. On my ride, I got chased down by Heather B. on her scooter so she could tell me they will be mountain biking tomorrow night. I don’t think I’ll make that, but who knows. I made a new friend:

My new friend

I also managed to avoid running over a squirrel that ran out in front of the bike. It came to a dead stop, and then ran around in a couple of tight circles before barreling back in the direction it came from. Sorry, no photos of that. I’ve got the mileage for the LIVESTRONG Challenge, now I hope I can conquer the hills of Montgomery County, PA. Heather

Ride stats:

Distance: 78.4 miles
Temperature: low 80s with a breeze (I have a serious biker tan.)
Ride category: Trying for 65, and getting a few more.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Now, just add hills”

  1. Karen says :

    I knew you couldn’t let that 50 miles go unchecked for long. So, how long did 78 miles take? How many times did you stop for ice cream? There is no Good Humor Man at the LIVESTRONG checkpoints and rest stations!

  2. jpo says :

    Congratulations on the PR!

  3. Heather says :

    Thanks jpo. It was a great loop through Franklin and Hampshire counties.

  4. The General says :

    You’re pretty amazing and should be awfully proud of yourself. A dork……, but pretty amazing nonetheless.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Feeling good « Sip, clip, and go! - July 30, 2008

Leave a Reply

