Sony Cybershot 7.2 Rides Again!



Sony Cybershot

Originally uploaded by sipclip&go

If you read this blog regularly you already know the ladies here at SCAG have had some bad luck with cameras. You may remember the mishap I had in Asheville when mt biking with a new friend last January, the camera, a Sony Cybershot DSC-P150 with 7.2 megapixels slipped from her numb fingers and crashed on the pavement of the trailhead’s lot. The lens, a telescoping Carl Zeiss Vario -Tessar bent in at an unnatural angle, jammed up and rendered it unusable. I was understanding–accidents happen. But I missed my camera. Under Heather’s advisement I purchased an Olympus Stylus 790SW with 7.1 megapixels. This was smaller than the Cybershot, lighter, waterproof, freezeproof, sandproof, and best of all SHOCKPROOF. No telescoping lens to smash in. It’s served me well as far as bringing a camera along for biking, but the photo quality fell just short of the Cybershot.

Over the weekend, a friend was over and wanted to download some pictures off her camera. She too, had a Cybershot (slightly different model) and I went into the closet to find a cable for her to use. I didn’t find one, but showed her my smashed camera. She poked around for a minute and somehow, snapped the lens back in place. We plugged it in to charge and remarkably, not only did the camera work, but the telephoto lens functioned just fine. I was floored, and pleased. She asked for the camera as a reward, and I offered her dinner instead. I’m not losing that camera a second time!

So now I have a choice, which if you’ve lived at all can be a luxury or a curse, depending upon how decisive a person you are. The Olympus is a little dream of a camera, perfect for my cycling adventures. But the Cybershot is best for the backpack, perfect for my hiking and other outdoor adventures. I also prefer the Cybershot for family photos, of which I have plenty of occasion.

Now, I just have to hope I didn’t throw that cable away….

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

