Cape Cod Cycling Weekend


 

I spend most of last weekend on the cape, Friday and Saturday to be exact with an early departure Sunday AM. I managed to sneak a short 45 minute solo ride in Friday afternoon before the skies opened and unleashed a brief rainstorm. Saturday was ideal–my hostess (whom I’ll affectionately refer to as “Jan Ullrich” or just “Jan” for short.  She could be his sister they look so much alike) & I rode from the start of the CCRT in Wellfleet to Rock Harbor in Orleans.

 

Round trip was 24.5 miles. The ride was flat with the biggest challenge being the throngs of junior campers and tourists occupying the trail. Spots where the trail crossed streets were also something to be cautious of. For just such challenges, there was a Police Bike Patrol on the trail. Two officers yielded to me (that never happens–I felt a little weird passing them) while on the trail and let me ride on by.

The sea breeze kept the temps down and the sunshine encouraged us to relax and enjoy the ride. It was an extremely pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

