Let the commuting begin


elevation_graph_commute in

After trial ride #1 and trial ride #2, I have finally made it official. I commuted to work by bike today. The attached elevation graph is for the ride in. I really missed not having the bike camera, but I did get to work in 59 minutes. Maybe not stopping for pictures was a good thing. I’m lucky because there is a secure place to store the bike and showers for after the ride. I just need to figure out the coffee situation. I chugged a cup before I left, but I really enjoy my coffee and missed not having some to drink throughout the morning. We do have a pod coffee maker at work, but it makes a bad horrific substitute.

Ride stats:

Commute in

Distance: 13.6 miles
Temperature: My arms and fingers were freezing at the start, but I warmed up quickly.
Elevation: lowest = 223.8 ft/ highest = 877.5 ft (∆ 653.7 ft)

Commute home

Distance: 14.7 miles
Temperature: Warm
Elevation: lowest = 155 ft / highest = 816.3 ft (∆ 661.3 ft)

The plan from here is to ride one day a week for a month (?), and see how that works out. I may try 2 days a week, but that’s a lot of planning and execution for me. The General will most definitely back me on that one! Best to see how this one day a week thing goes first. The big thing is it will help with the base mileage for my LIVESTRONG training. Apparently, the good weather is a deterrent for me unlike the winter months. Heather

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Let the commuting begin”

  1. ellen says :

    I am so proud of you!
    And jealous too.

    Ellen

  2. Heather says :

    Thanks Ellen!

Leave a Reply

