Mom on her new bike!




So, my parents went out and bought two brand new bikes. It was my dad’s idea, he’s been busy on a stationary all winter at the gym and enjoyed it so much he wanted to get a “real” bike. He hasn’t been on a bike since he was 12, so I really have to hand it to him. Additionally, Dad weighs in at about 285 these days, so he needed something extra sturdy and extra stable. He chose the Specialized Expedition. I test rode it and it’s a comfortable ride, although because he’s so much bigger than me I found it a little hard to handle 🙂

My mother had no interest in a bike until Dad forced her to come along to the shop to assist in picking one out. By the time they left, she had one too, a Trek Navigator. I also test rode that and since Mom’s a few inches shorter than me, I found that a lot easier to handle, plus a lot lighter.

I made her try out the mt bike and she looked great cruising around the back yard. She’s a great sport–63 years old in a couple of weeks and riding my mt bike. Go mom! –Karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

2 responses to “Mom on her new bike!”

  1. markowe says :

    Now to get her in clipless pedals 🙂

    (P.S. Good luck with the banner! The resolution is rather low – would definitely benefit from upping the res. Or is it just my aging eyes?)

  2. Heather says :

    Don’t worry, it’s not your eyes. The resolution is low, and I have to play around with that, too.

Leave a Reply

