Let’s see how far we’ve come


This is the title of one of my new favorite songs by Matchbox 20 (in fact, it was in my head on the plane ride to and from Asheville last January–sort of a theme song for the trip), but it’s also a good title for this post. Why? I did a record ride for the season, and to be truthful, a record ride for any non-event ride in my life. When participating in an event, I’ve done more miles. But it’s easy to be swept up in the emotion of any feel good charity ride. Today I did 38.1 miles, and actually made it to the border of this town in the photo, all by myself. It was a 5 town tour day, in 73 degrees and bright sunshiny skies. Perfect day for a ride.

Ride Stats:
Distance: 38.1
MPH: 14.7
Top Speed 38.8*

* look for the Top Speed category in future posts. Now that the snow is gone I’m going to have to start earning my nickname back, which means hitting at least 46 mph on a downhill. –Karen

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Let’s see how far we’ve come”

  1. Dorothy W. says :

    Sounds like a great ride! My fastest ever is 45 mph, and that was pretty terrifying — I’m not a fan of super-fast speeds! The 30s are okay, but faster than that I don’t particularly like.

  2. Heather says :

    73˚? Too hot.

  3. Karen says :

    Dorothy–I LOVE riding fast downhill. I actually prefer it when I’m mt biking–throw some rocks and trees and roots my way and I’m happy as a clam. Although I don’t reach 45+ mph downhill mt biking. That’s definitely saved for road rides 🙂

Leave a Reply

