Trial ride #2


1 of 4

I have been playing around with the idea of commuting to work for quite a while now. Start with one day a week, and see what happens. I did a trial run today, and it took an hour and ten minutes. That’s five minutes more than my first attempt. Might have been the wind; Weather Underground states it was suppose to reach 7mph during the time I was out riding. I just checked AccuWeather, and they list wind gusts up to 28mph. Some of those headwinds felt like they were pushing at more than 7mph that’s for sure.

Here’s a question for everyone: what sources do you use to figure out the weather for your rides? Local news, internet weather sites, an old soccer injury? Please post your answers in the comments section.

Ride stats:

Distance: 27.5 miles
Temperature: 64˚ (average)
Ride category: Work commute trial ride

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Trial ride #2”

  1. Jeff says :

    I use weather.com to get a rough idea, but then I’ll go outside and walk around for a little bit. In Carson City, you can usually tell how your day is going to be by looking at the mountains.

    I also keep a wide variety of cycling clothes at home and at work. This has saved me from several poor judgment calls!

  2. Dana says :

    I usually use weather.com. They have the best up-to-day weather with a good radar map. I also listen to the local news weather a fair bit. Between the two I figured I’m covered.

    Keep up the commuting. Its a great way to gear up for your day and relax and unwind on the way home.

  3. Karen says :

    I use News 22 or accuweather.

Leave a Reply

