Maybe I should take up cyclocross


I decided to checkout a little loop off of River Road to see what was on it. In a word? Mud. The loop goes around the railroad yard, but the paved section dead ends at their boundary. No biggie, I saw the sign pointing to the bike path and turned around. The first section looked good, and I took off on the Specialized, the bike with the “slicks” for tires. The terrain in the third photo was considered better than average for this jaunt. I rode the whole damn thing (ok, all 1.5 miles of it) except for one section that had a puddle from one set of thorn bushes to the other. I carefully walked around that one. It was just one of the things I love about riding my bike, new adventures. It made me even think about checking out a cross race or two next season. Who knows, maybe give it a try. The perfect excuse for a new bike!

If I had had one of these, I would have been all set…

Dear Santa...

Ride stats:

Distance: 36.9 miles
Temperature: 52˚ (average)
Ride category: Longest ride of the year

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

