Spring Rounds the Corner



Cornering

Originally uploaded by sipclip&go

Today is not March 20th, but it’s such a nice sunny day outside after a glum, gray weekend I thought I’d make the acknowledgement that Spring is, in fact, in the air. What determines the official beginning of Spring? For all you science geeks out there (From wiki) it goes like this: In general, the four seasons correspond to the relative position of the Sun to the earth. Meteorological determination of Spring is calculated when the Sun passes through the equatorial plane. When going from Winter to Spring, the Sun is moving North, and as soon as the Sun crosses the equator, we call it Spring. This year Spring kicks off March 20, 2008. The equinox will be at 5:48 GMT.

Meteorology notwithstanding, I spied tulips breaking through the earth in front of a church on Main Street while in Northampton over the weekend. It’s light out when I get home from work, and even after dinner. My bike shop can’t turn around a tune up in anything less than a week. I still have snow in my back yard, but it’s receding like a glacier, another few inches every day.

This event is not as important to Heather–she’s been riding all winter long. But for a fair weather cyclist like myself–I’m personally psyched that Spring is here, and all those miles done on the trainer will pay off once I hit the pavement. Yeah to Spring! –Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

