On Shopping


I hate shopping.  I work retail, and I’m in a shopping environment 40-50 hours a week.  So usually the LAST thing I want to do is go shopping.  Plus I’m on a strict budget.  I usually limit my shopping experiences to a few spare times a year, and 50% of my experiences are now on-line.  But lately I’ve been feeling like splurging on myself…new shoes, new clothes, and better…new cycling clothes. 

So I just received the new Terry catalog.  Terry’s a great company and I support them, but honestly I usually don’t shop from there because I find the cycling clothing too “girly.”  You can’t go wrong with the black Lycra, but as far as jerseys go, I steer clear of pastels and pinks and baby blues.  Throw in all those florals and swirly patterns and I’m suddenly buried deep in the men’s section of Bike Nashbar looking for my next jersey.  I’m more of a primary color girl.  For women-specific gear like bike seats, bikes, sports bras, and cycling shoes I like Terry a lot. 

But for my next purchase, I believe I’m investing in another cold weather jersey recently on sale from cyclocrossworld (now that the season’s over.)  But hey–red is my favorite color, and it’s on sale.  Not to mention, there’s still plenty of cold weather in my immediate future. –Karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

Leave a Reply

