Bleak and Bleaker: When will this winter end?


Damn the groundhog.  It’s snowing, AGAIN here in western Massachusetts.  I have not seen the sun shine in what feels like months.  My least favorite color is officially grey–because I am submerged in grey.  And now I’m in white–all white, all the time.  I want green and blue and red and yellow and life again.  I want spring!

I know I’m not the only one feeling this way.  There is a universal grumpiness that has descended upon just about everyone I know. 

But today I saw my first Robin of the year.  Yes, I nearly killed it with my truck because it darted in front of me while I was driving home from a late breakfast at Cafe Esselon in Hadley with my son.  But it’s unmistakable red breast stood out against the grey. 

So I know it’s coming…..my thaw.  Mud season will be here soon, which will make mountain biking extra interesting.  So I’m still waiting, aching for sunshine and temps over 45.  It’s not too much to ask, is it? –Karen

PS–I did see one soul on his bike while on RT 47 on my way to breakfast, before the first flakes started to fall.  And no, it wasn’t Heather–she’s getting her sunshine via the Caribbean right now–she’ll be back to this depressing weather soon enough…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

Mid-life female amateur athlete focused on cyclocross, mountain biking, and road cycling. Always looking to see what is around the next bend in the road.

6 responses to “Bleak and Bleaker: When will this winter end?”

  1. Dorothy W. says :

    I’m looking ahead to the weather forecast for this week and despairing — when am I going to fit my rides in?? But now it’s the middle of February, spring is really not so far off.

  2. Karen says :

    Dorothy–yes, I have to see any riding I do now as icing (lol–pun intended) on the cake. I’ve never been this active over the winter–so I know I’ll go into the season strong. Until then, love thy trainer I suppose…

  3. Adam Durand says :

    This is my first winter of bike commuting. It was fun at first, but after a couple months of this cold, icy nonsense, spring cannot come a day too soon!

  4. Karen says :

    Hey Adam, I give you a lot of credit for commuting in this. I know some bike commuters but they all hang it up in the winter. Pray for spring!

  5. Paul Grecian says :

    And here I am in Bucks County, PA still waiting for any real snow this winter. Maybe tomorrow.

  6. Karen says :

    We’re getting another 4-8 this Wednesday. I’ll trade with you!

Leave a Reply

