Slow and steady


Karen and I have decided to have a friendly little competition* to see who logs the most miles this year. Currently, she is #14 and I am #24 in Massachusetts on bikejournal.com. Today’s ride stats:

Distance: 12.8 miles

Temperature (@ end): 36˚ F

Ride category: fun, quick spin

*friendly little competition is not really possible for me, I am not programmed that way. I almost got ejected from the General’s family kickball game. I figure this will be just the boost I need to keep my butt in the saddle. My plan is to ride whenever I can, even if it’s around the block. The mileage will add up, and at least I’m not counting any miles logged on the trainer. Right, friendly competition, friendly.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Slow and steady”

  1. Karen says :

    We’re officially competing on this now? Oh boy. I really enjoyed having you as a friend, Heather. But if you are throwing down I’m in! But no fair on the trainer comment. I think I’m doing just fine considering the realm of responsibilties I have. For me–it’s the trainer or nothing! Besides–with the fresh new 12+ inches of powder on the way you’d better learn to love your trainer 🙂 Hey, is there a bet involved here? Like beer? Or bike gear?

  2. Heather says :

    Yeah, I was thinking about that. A gift certificate to Bike Nashbar or Performance Bike? $25?

  3. Karen says :

    You’re on. When’s the end date? By June 1st? Or straight through to 2009?

  4. Heather says :

    For the whole year, we’ll tally it up on 1/1/2009.

  5. Karen says :

    Consider it done.

Leave a Reply

