First Big Boy Bike



First Big Boy Bike

Originally uploaded by sipclip&go

Santa’s being good to my kid this year, because he’s getting his first big boy bike. For about 3 months, he’s been telling me he’s getting a “green bike” for Christmas, and that Santa would be bringing it. Then he threw in a green helmet. For 2 years and many months he’s been on the earth, he has figured the whole Christmas thing out already. Next year I’m certain it will be an X box Santa’s required to bring. Anyway, after much searching, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle 12 inch bike seems to be the only game in town, so I ordered it. TMNTs are also a big hit with him, so it’s sure to be a slam dunk.

When it arrived, in a box, I realized that I was now solely responsible for assembling it. OK, I could do this. But heeding the horror stories of frantic, exhausted parents assembling toys and bikes until 4AM Christmas morning, I decided to get an early start.

All those horror stories were dead on, because I ended up using an extra tool not called for in the original instructions: a rubber mallet. But the bike is together and very sturdy. I even pumped up the tires.

Now the bike waits in the attic for Christmas Eve. I can’t wait to see the look on his face when he gets it. He’s really excited for me when I ride my bike. He digs watching bike races and I think this is a big symbol of being a “big boy.” As a parent, I’m proud and pleased to see him embrace not only bikes, but the independence and confidence a bike can give a kid of any age. Now if I could only get him to consistently use the potty…..  Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “First Big Boy Bike”

  1. Heather says :

    Re consistently using the potty…TMNT stickers perhaps?

  2. canary11 says :

    Ahhhh…good idea! Either that or Spider Man stickers.

Leave a Reply

