This Is Cross: VERGE Cycle Smart Northampton 2007



Hoisting the bike
Originally uploaded by sipclip&go

Well, I finally got a cross race in this season. Yesterday at Look Park in Northampton, the VERGE series returned for it’s annual event to Northampton for it’s 17th season. I didn’t get to spent the whole day there–there’s only so much a 2 and 4 year old can tolerate, along with a 10 week old puppy in tow. But the action was great as I watched the Men’s Cat 2/3 and the conculsion of the junior race. Watching everyone on the course, I can only admire the fortitude and endurance it takes to do this sport. Had I stayed, I would have watched Lyne Bessette spank the competiton yet again for the Elite Women, and Jesse Anthony take first prize for the Men’s Elite. But which racer was I most impressed with? The 67 year old grandmother who raced. I only hope when I’m a grandma I can be tough enough to race cross (I had better get training!).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

