While Old Man Winter Wasn’t Looking…..


Heather & I road some bikes.  Yeah, it was raining, and yeah, there was some snow, and some ice, and some mud.  But it was above freezing, which sadly qualifies as “good weather.”

Resting after a stream crossing.

Resting after a stream crossing.

I’m deeply grateful that I have a crazy enough friend who lives close by enough to join me to ride in these conditions. I am managing to get out about once every week or two, but as evidenced by the snow you see above, it’s hasn’t always been possible to ride.  And when there wasn’t several inches of snowfall to contend with, there was the “Polar Vortex.”

The icy ascent.

The icy ascent.

Anyway, it was good to ride outside, and have some company to boot.  We kept the elevation under 1000 ft, but the extra effort pedaling through a few soft inches of snow and tire sucking mud didn’t make us feel like we were slacking off.

As I type, 4 new inches of snow lie in my yard, and another 6-12 predicted tomorrow night, with a Nor’Easter predicted for Sunday with a rumor of several feet of snow.

That groundhog?  Call the exterminator.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

2 responses to “While Old Man Winter Wasn’t Looking…..”

  1. All Seasons Cyclist says :

    Great photos! So far we’ve had over 60″ of “Global Warming” and it is difficult to find a place to ride anymore (I still go out, but those -15 degree mornings are starting to get to me!)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Yummy Food For Your Bike Ride | echo in the city - February 18, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 982 other followers

