Building My Own Bike: Part 1


When my brother gave me a $75 gift card to Bike Nashbar for Christmas, I’m sure he didn’t think he’d be the tipping point in me deciding to build my own bike.  I just learned how to change my own tires last year, so sure, I can build a bike, right?  Right.

I purchased an aluminum cyclocross frame off Nashbar’s site and paid about $30 for it.  That was mostly for shipping.  I took advantage of the gift card, a fantastic post holiday sale and Nashbar’s brand frame.  As soon as I ordered it, I tweeted about it, which resulted in a flurry of closet bike mechanics coming out of the woodwork giving me advice.  Wow–I had no idea how many bike builders I knew.  I know next to nothing, but with their help, and the Internet, I’m learning so much.  And that was partially the intent of taking this project on.

Now, armed with a ton of online articles, Twitter, and an amazing spreadsheet from Ashley from Aerochick, who built her first bike last year, I am researching parts and slowly buying what I need.  I’m giving myself until September to finish it.  I’m planning on building a single speed cyclocross bike, and racing it occasionally in 2014.  With talk of the Single Speed World Championships coming to Boston in 2014, I want to give the fringiest part of my fringe sport a try.

I’ll keep you posted on the build, how it goes, and where I run into trouble (I’m sure I’ll run into a bunch).  I know there are a few stages that require me to bring it to the LBS for installation (feeling no shame–Cyclocross Magazine even recommended this), but otherwise, I’m going to try and give everything a good college try before taking it to my mechanic for help.

-Karen

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

2 responses to “Building My Own Bike: Part 1”

  1. OutsideKMA says :

    This IS Great! I wish to build a single speed cx bike, too, AND hit the SS Worlds in Boston (massive road trip for me)! Keep us posted – pictures, please!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

