CX ! CX ! CX !


The 2013 Cyclocross Season is officially underway, and finally my quiet brooding over the last 9 months can be realized as the full-blown obsession it should be.  I have 2 races under my belt this year so far, and I’ve been pleased so far with the training I’ve done and the performance of the new CX bike.

There’s still lots of work to be done, however.  Nutritionally speaking, I always have opportunities. I need lot of skill work, too. That just takes repetition, repetition, repetition.

Last year at Silk City.....my first CX race ever!

Last year at Silk City…..my first CX race ever!

The next 3 weekends I have races scheduled.  Silk City is this weekend in Manchester, CT.  Then, the Holy Week of Cyclocross in the Northeast kicks off the following weekend in Gloucester, MA with the Gloucester Gran Prix (I’m racing Sunday), and then the weekend of Oct 4-5-6 is the Providence Cyclocross Festival in Providence, RI. (also racing Sunday at Providence). I am excited about all of this, but Gloucester is what I’m most excited and nervous about. I’ll post more about Gloucester soon, it’s so big deserves it’s own post.

So this week I prep–beet juice, veggies, protein, intervals, tempo rides, skills work.  How to do this with no babysitter?  No idea. Well, a little idea.  I will need to resort to the trainer to keep the legs primed.  Skills work can happen in the back yard.  The actual rides are tough for me now since I’m not home from work until 6 and it’s dark by 7, and the lack of a sitter is killing me. I’ll do what I can and hope for the best.  This is for fun after all–I just want to keep my good trend going.

Image

This past weekend I had a mini vacation with family in New Hampshire.  I got 3 solid days of riding in around Great East Lake on the New Hampshire/Maine line and the hills were great. The mountain air was cool and crisp and there was dirt, gravel and quiet rolling roads.  My legs actually feel sore today–that’s something that hasn’t happened in a while.  I really feel very good about the work I did on the bike this weekend.  I didn’t log a ton of miles but the work was there and I’m hopeful it will give me an edge.  I also swam (66 degrees outside but speak now or hold your peace until next June so I took my shot), I finally tried Stand Up Paddle boarding, and did some light hiking.  A nice break before the leaves turn and fall and CX season goes full steam ahead.  Woot!  Now another reason fall is my favorite time of year.

-Karen

Tags:

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

3 responses to “CX ! CX ! CX !”

  1. OutsideKMA says :

    I feel your excitement! Beet juice = you’re hard core. Lastly, I really believe stand up paddle boarding improves core strength and balance which translates to better bike handling.

  2. Laura says :

    I’m excited to watch you race … even from afar … this season. Go forth and kick butt!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 896 other followers

