NEW BIKE ALERT! Kona Major Jake 2011


Since my first cyclocross race ever last September, I knew I was in trouble.  I knew I was hooked.  I wouldn’t be able to stop.  And judging from my numbers on Crossresults for the season, I knew I’d need a faster bike.

No disrespect to my Specialized Tricross Sport, but truthfully, it wasn’t meant to race.  Dirt and gravel roads, a randonee perhaps, but it just wasn’t made for speed.  Weighing in at 23.5 lbs, I got strong riding it, but placed at the end of the pack every time.  I decided at the end of CX season in 2012 I needed an equipment upgrade.

Enter the Kona.  I walked into a bike shop I’d never set foot in in Southwick, MA called New England Bike Shop.  The only reason I went there was because my friend and I were bored and she said they carried Cannondale, and I had my eye on the Cannondale SuperX Carbon Rival.  I was dismayed, because despite having a really wonder selection of mountain bikes and road bikes, I couldn’t find any CX bikes.  Finally after a bit of browsing, I asked if they had any Cannondale CX bikes and they pointed to a CAADX.  But next to it was this……

Kona Major Jake

 

The price was reduced from $3282 to $2252 and it was a leftover demo from 2011. They had demoed it last year at the NEMBA Fest. The new Major Jake (2013) retails at $3400. I was surprised to see it there, since it was a 2011, and was loving the price.  Once I picked it up I was very, very interested.  It weighed in at 17 lbs, 15 oz.  A very noticeable difference from any of my other bikes.  Oh the difference a full carbon frame makes.  A seed was planted, and a few days later I returned with my pedals and cleats and bike shorts for a test ride.  3 hours later, after a few adjustments to the stem and handlebars, I was packing it into the back of my Element and taking the Major home with me.

Carbon CX Kona

 

One of the deciding factors was watching the “Bike Talk” video with Helen Wyman, the British 8 time National Champion, who rides the Major Jake.  I’ve watched Helen race the Gloucester Gran Prix in 2011 and 2012, and I even managed to sneak her a bag of my coffee to her at the 2012 race (although I missed meeting her, she tweeted some nice words about the gift the following day).  Helen is FAST.  Like, no one can touch her fast.  A few months back, I openly polled my Twitter Stream for CX bike recommendations and Helen responded with “Kona.  End of Discussion.”  Sure, she races for them so of course she says nice things.  But her performance speaks for itself.

After I got the Jake home, I had almost no time for a ride before my son returned home from school. I jumped on the Jake and sprinted over to the closest patch of woods to my house.  I have a nice, private CX loop segment I do there, and it’s saved on my Strava profile.  It’s a great area to practice CX.  My best time on the Tricross for this segment was 6:02.  On the Jake, without going 100%, my time was 5:09.  Almost a whole minute.  What would that mean over the course of a whole CX race?

Middle of the pack, here I come.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

2 responses to “NEW BIKE ALERT! Kona Major Jake 2011”

  1. Laura says :

    Woot! Congrats on pulling the trigger on your new ride!

  2. bgddyjim says :

    Nice! Congrats.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 979 other followers

