Good cyclist, bad blogger


I’ve been slacking in my blogging duties, but for a great many good reasons.  Paramount is that I’ve been riding my bike, which — let’s face it — is the entire point, right?

I joined the May Massive on Strava, a simple little contest where you just ride as much as you can in the month of May.  I’ve been trying to ride 100 miles a week but in truth, I keep hovering around 70.  Last week I managed more than 90.  This week, the rains came, and I’m not going to come out with a big number.  Not that it’s about numbers.

I easily get caught up with being competitive, even when I have no business pretending that I can compete.  And I shouldn’t compete with friends (even ones I’ve never met on Strava), but in my head, I’m seeing their numbers and thinking, “I need to ride more than 100 miles this week, because she did, and she did, and he did, and he’s already banked 200 miles this week.”  This is just who I am, when I’m alone in my head.  Then I snap out of it and have a chat with myself and remind myself that I’m doing this for fun.

Ar we having fun yet?

Are we having fun yet?

Fun.  Remember that?  Well I should.  And I should try for more.  I’ve been riding a ton the last 2 years, a ton for me anyway.  I’ve grown really dependent on the maintenance high that frequent cycling has given me.  It’s the best stress management and mood manager ever (not that I’m <ahem> moody.  No, not me).  So no matter how my ride starts, it almost always ends with me feeling less burdened, more carefree, and with better coping skills. This has been especially helpful to me this year, as it has been a tougher one for me as far as years go.  I think my higher brain is gently trying to remind me to keep some of the riding fun so that this quality is not lost.  It is really the fundamental reason that I ride.  To feel good.

I’m pleased with how I’ve grown stronger on the bike, too.  A poor climber, I always avoided hills.  Now I almost always try to include them.  As a result, I’ve performed better and better on these climbs, shaving minutes off segments in some cases.  While I don’t think I’ll ever be fast, and am now stronger. I survive climbs better than ever now, and I recover quicker.  It feels great.  And while I don’t want to lose some of the performance I’ve gained, I don’t want to lose the fun either. Keeping a good balance will be important, as it is only late May, and we have a good 6 months of cycling ahead before the snows grow deep.

So sorry about neglecting my blogging duties.  It’s only because we got 2 inches of rain today that you’re even reading this.  And that’s a good thing.  It’s the whole point.

-Karen

(Note: the photo is of my son at about 6 months of age. He’s happier now that he’s old enough to actually ride a bike.)

Tags: , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

3 responses to “Good cyclist, bad blogger”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    I can very much relate to your struggle to balance everything and THEN balance fun with real training. My big problem is with my Tuesday evening club rides – some of the guys out there are simply outstanding cyclists and I just can’t keep up and enjoy the training at the same time – I’d have to go beyond fun and get into work and I just don’t need that. I need exactly what you so eloquently stated in your post… The problem, at least so far, is that I’ve tried to have it all. For what it’s worth, I’ve decided that I’m good enough (at least for the next few weeks) to just enjoy myself and let that be enough. Having read almost every one of your posts over the last year or year and a half, I think it’s time you allowed yourself to set down the cape. We do what we can until it’s too much to have fun… This is ok for we who worry about trying to make the harder effort fun too – the lazy one’s never got off the couch. That isn’t us. Great post and I hope you find a balance to enjoy. You work hard enough for it as far as I can see.

    • Karen says :

      ah Thanks Jim. It’s a tough balance, like most things that are worthwhile. I’m not stressed about it, just mindful that I need need to be aware of my tendencies to make it too much work sometimes. I have been off blogging for a while now, and I do enjoy writing and reading other blogs–something I’ve just not had enough time for lately. I need to find some more time for that as well.

      I don’t think its bad to try to have it all–if only there were more hours in the day :)

      • bgddyjim says :

        I’d like to lobby Congress for another four – that would be great! But they’d have to make the daylight last longer too… That might be tricky. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

