30 Days of Biking, 2013


It’s coming…..

Have you signed up? 

Image

30 Days of Biking is a simple idea with a huge impact.  Ride somewhere, anywhere, every day for 30 days.  Take the pledge here.

Sounds easy, but it’s a little trickier than you’d think.  I gave this a try last year and missed about 3 days out of 30, all weather related.  Still, I rode a ton, and it wasn’t as if I was logging super long rides.  Most of the rides I did was with my son around the neighborhood. This had several unplanned but wonderful results.  First, I was able to spend more time with him.  We weren’t in front of a TV or on the couch, we were riding bikes.  Second, I was able to teach him some of the rules of the road.  He’s getting to that age when he’ll want to be venturing out on his own soon, so I tried to instruct him to ride defensively. He gets a verbal quiz and if he does well, he gets to lead the ride.  It’s a leap of faith for me to allow him in front of me on the road, even on our sleepy side streets, but little bird has to learn to fly sometime, right?  I’m happy to be there coaching him along the way.

My son was very into the idea of 30 Days of Biking. There were days I wasn’t feeling super motivated that he dragged me out on the bike with him, and I was never sorry that he did.  As a result, I rode more miles than I normally would have.  I felt great, and it’s a great kickstart to the cycling season.

So ride someplace, every day.  To the post office, the bank, around your neighborhood, or do  a century.  Just get on the bike, every day.  You won’t regret it.

-Karen 

Tags: , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

3 responses to “30 Days of Biking, 2013”

  1. College Tri says :

    This looks awesome! Although I already ride almost every day because of commuting between campuses for college.

  2. Laura Rice says :

    This is a great idea! I’m excited to use it for motivation in April and increase my total days on the bike. Thanks for sharing!

  3. cupcaketravels says :

    Hmmm… I think I might have to be “in”…:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

