Archive | December 8, 2012

One more race?

I’m fighting off a funk in terms of my cycling routine. And I’m not going to blame the weather either.  The weather is not an issue.   It seems as suddenly all these crazy workouts have caught up with me.  I had one good ride last week and I was rewarded with a tweaked hip that pinched a nerve and made it  near impossible for me to cross my own kitchen, let alone pedal.  I went mountain biking with a friend which was great–I liked the social aspect.  But the ride was slower due to conversation and 5 minutes before we wrapped up I crashed and smashed up my left knee.

Also-last weekend I rolled my ankle and it’s been stiff ever since.

I officially sound like everyone’s older parent bitching about what aches.  How awful of me.  I don’t like it.  I don’t like that my knees pop and crack when I try to get off the couch, and that my hamstrings are so tight they cramp when I bend down to pick up my son’s Legos.

What to do?  A lot of folks advise some time off the bike, but I don’t know….I’m sort of afraid to stop.  I feel like momentum is one of the things I have going for me.

This is where I am, wrestling between time off and another goal.  The most immediate would be next weekend’s finale on the cyclocross season.

The New England Cyclocross Championships is a Dec 15/16 and in Fitchburg, MA.  There are some good videos posted online and it doesn’t look like a really crazy course.  Despite the name it’s really not a big race.  There is a flyover which looks fun–you have to dismount, climb up, and remount at the top.  I am looking at racing Saturday in the 35+ Masters Women group.  Like anything, I have analyzed this to a ridiculous level and know that based on last year’s race it’s a small group, under 10 women, and that if I raced those same women from last year, I would finish last.  I know that even if I do finish last, I will score low points as scored on crossresults.com, which will help my overall average and earn me a better starting position in larger races next year. DC & CX 034

I am pretty proud of myself for doing all these races but after reviewing my results, I have a lot of improving to do and I do want to  get better race results.  So I suppose I should just take my creaky middle-aged body to Fitchburg next weekend.

I’m not committing 100% yet.  I’m going to do my normal training plan leading up to a race and see how I feel after Wednesday.  Then I’ll either pull the trigger or stay home and ride the couch. Then I’ll get it together to recap the year and set some new goals for 2012.  Providing the Mayans aren’t right and all.

-Karen

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 951 other followers