Cyclocross Clinic


I’ve gone crazy and signed up for a free women’s-only cyclocross clinic for Monday night.  I’m a little nervous and excited.  I have been practicing the dismount and I’m getting better.  Adding real barriers will add a layer of reality to it though.

I’m not sure what tipped me in this direction.  I bought the cross bike last year but rode it once in 2011.  A series of flat tires on the road bike has forced me on the Trisport for 85% of all my rides this year.  I’ve done well over 1000 mile on the cross bike this year.  So I’m comfortable riding it, but riding it on the road and riding a cross course are really two wildly different things.

Still, I have been surfing BikeReg for a suitable low-key race.  I think I found one in Lancaster, MA this October.  Hopefully I’ll feel comfortable enough with the dismount, remount, and shouldering the bike to give it a try.  I’m looking for a good set of cyclocross tires for the event.  Is it just an excuse to shop for more bike gear?  No–I think I just want to be serious about this.  I’m looking at the Michelin Mud 2 which looks like a good all around tire that will perform in the mud and still not slow me down on the packed dirt. Not that I’m fast.  That hasn’t changed.  But my bike handling skills are decent so I think I can survive a 40 minute event.

What about this picture looks fun? Yeah, I’m not sure either.

I will post about the clinic next week.  It’s on Monday at 6PM so if you are a female and interested and live in western Massachusetts, email me at sipclipandgoATgmailDOTcom and I’ll give you the info.

-Karen

Tags: , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

2 responses to “Cyclocross Clinic”

  1. funkbunny77 says :

    Sounds like a TON of fun! Wish I was closer – would love to join you. Can’t wait to hear about how it went!

  2. bgddyjim says :

    Good luck – actually it does look fun. You’ll be a lot tougher for it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 896 other followers

