Mt. Holyoke Summit Climb


Last week I only rode 3x but the rides are getting faster and stronger. Feeling like my legs from years past have returned I decided to try my luck climbing the auto road to the top of Mount Holyoke.

I did this only once before when I was training for the 70 mile Livestrong ride 3 years ago. It’s a good climb, starting off pretty intensely and the leveling off a bit in the middle, with a steep switchbacking finish to the top near the Skinner House. I got lucky and only contended with a couple of cars along the climb. There were lots of hikers on the road but they were easy to move around. I was up top before I knew it, the Garmin registering 1125 feet.

The best part was the ride down. I had to ride the brakes for a good part of it but when I had a straight enough path I had to be hitting 40 mph.

This climb wasn’t effortless. I felt it, for sure. I dug in a bit to get up that hill, but it was a huge psychological win for me. I feel very ready to step up the training, even though I am largely without a goal or endgame in mind, other than having a great time on my bike this summer.

Oh yeah. I did this on my ‘cross bike too. Heavier, rough tires and all. I am really eager to see how this translates on the road bike, which I have yet to take out.

-Karen

20120604-213033.jpg

20120604-213049.jpg

The top! A rest well earned.

Tags: , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

3 responses to “Mt. Holyoke Summit Climb”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Brakes? What are those? :D

  2. Jonathan says :

    Great work, Skinner is a tough climb. Kudos. Double-kudos for doing it on the CX bike.

  3. Karen says :

    Thanks–I have to make it to Sugarloaf next :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 951 other followers

