A few setbacks, and then another setback


After all these years I had finally done it–I had achieved the workout schedule I always wanted to achieve but life commitments would not allow me to have.

5 Days a week.

Yup, a girl can dream.  And I did.  And finally, yes finally–I was working out 5 days week.  3 days running, and 1-2 spinning on the trainer (it is winter after all), and 1 day of pickup basketball.  And then, to get a little crazy, I was even doing some cross training with weights, cardio and pilates.  This was the off-season, and I wanted to switch a few things up so I could got into the spring, summer and fall cycling stronger than ever.

So what’s the problem?

Setback #1:

Nerve Pain. Beginning in the shoulder, shooting over my arm, missing it completely, before electrifying my hand and in particular, my thumb. What caused this?  In short, a desk job.  So now I’m working on a more ergonomic workstation and with a physical therapist, who has determined my spine is cranked at where my neck spine meets my back spine (highly technical jargon, I know).  3 days a week my PT, a very nice woman, tries to pull my head off my body. It’s helping.

Setback #2

Runner’s knee.  Or so I’m told.  Sharp bright pain at the tip of my knee cap and behind the knee.  I have flat feet so this isn’t a surprise, and it really started becoming a problem when I was edging closer to 4 mile runs.  I have an appointment with a podiatrist and will have orthotics made to correct my alignment, which should help.  In the meantime I’ve rested from running, and have replaced some of those workouts with more trainer work (which I’m actually enjoying).

Setback #3

Torn Shoulder Muscles in right shoulder.  I did this during a weights/cardio workout.  I made it worse by thinking it was just a pulled muscle and played hoops for 90 minutes the next morning.  It’s been a month, and it’s still healing.

These setbacks have been really limiting me from the roll I was on.  I’m trying not to feel frustrated with this, rather calling it a “recovery week” or assigning it some holistically beneficial name to make me feel better about not being as active.  So, just as I’m feeling a bit better–enough to ride anyway, then comes…..

Yet Another Setback

That would be food poisoning.  And it was a doozy.  I was the cook, and it was a bad avocado.  I think this permanently puts me off Mexican food.  I really thought I was ER bound, and although others say they have experienced sweating, fainting, and tingling numbness in the face, hands, arms and legs in addition to not being able to walk or really move under your own power, and with the cursory involuntary reactions of all kinds that take place during an episode of food poisoning.  This happened 2 days ago and I’m still getting my strength back.

So, to all my setbacks, I say–uncle.  You win.  Now let me up off the floor.  I need to get back to training.

-Karen

Tags: , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

One response to “A few setbacks, and then another setback”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    That’s terrible… I feel your pain. I’m going through the same stretch of badness.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 963 other followers

