Cyclocross Bike: Maiden Voyage


Waiting in the wings.....

I finally got a chance to get out on the cross bike last week.  It’s interesting how different this bike feels.  Not bad–just different.  It must be the geometry–a little bit of a stretch when I first got on, but comfortable by the time the ride ended.  I’m definitely going to have to switch out the seat–it’s pretty to look at but brutal to sit on.  The shimano M520 clipless pedals did well, although I still need to make a few adjustments on the tension.

My new love, the Specialized Tricross Sport

I really need to get out onto some gravel and grass to check the handling further.  I plan to check out some of the gravel trails and roads my commentors linked in this post.  I like this bike; but I’m realizing how infrequently I will be able to ride it–and this makes me a little crazy.  This past week I was on vacation and manged to ride all three bikes:cross, mountain, road.  That’s pretty good for me, although I’m still wanting more.  I didn’t run at all.  I did some light hiking with my son.  I was active nearly every day.  Still….I long for more cycling.

At least I can ride vicariously by watching the Tour de France  until the 24th!  Vive le Tour!

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

2 responses to “Cyclocross Bike: Maiden Voyage”

  1. Kat says :

    I’m jealous! I want one, too!

  2. Brian says :

    Very nice ride, good choice. As you get comfortable with what is in effect ‘taking a road bike off-roads’, new trails will begin to appear. Any public grass field will soon become a trail. It’ll be great. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

