Transitioning


Today I did something sad, but necessary:  I set up the trainer in the basement and rode my bike inside.  It’s only mid October and we’ve already had our first snowfall.  Insignificant in accumulation, but a huge psychological blow.  Winter is coming early, and it rarely leaves as early as it comes. 

I haven’t been in the saddle since my duathlon.  Work is getting busy as it does every year at this time.  I still have three vacation days left which I plan to use simply to keep my workouts going. 

I’ve run only twice since the race as well, mostly because my opportunities are limited.  I struck out in the cold (47 is cold for me) and ran 2 miles last Wednesday, and my lungs reacted badly.  I have trouble in the cold.  Getting used to it will help, but I’m just not cut out for big workouts outdoors in the cold.

So now–I transition to maintenance mode.  I’ve ridden half the miles on the road bike this year than last year.  I’ve logged far more mountain bike rides, which naturally cuts down on overall mileage.  Additionally, I’ve taken up running.  This has only been in the last 8 weeks but affects overall mileage . I feel stronger than this time last year.  I’ve even made it out to do a little hiking, something I used to be serious about but all but stopped after I discovered mountain biking in 2000.

I did not do a century this year.  I had every good intention but a bad cold, seriously ridiculous amounts of rain, and furthering my education just interfered with scheduling any real training for such an endeavor.  I feel I redeemed myself by doing the duathlon, and can see doing that again next year.  My brother wants to race it with me, and I think that would be fun.

So now, on to keeping motivated for training inside the next 5 or 6 months.  Wow–that’s a long time!  Here’s hoping for an Indian Summer to get me a shot in the arm before winter truly takes hold.

-Karen

Tags: , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

One response to “Transitioning”

  1. Jeff Moser says :

    Riding in the cold isn’t too bad, but you definitely have to approach it differently. You have to accept that you probably can’t ride the same way you do in warmer weather. Taking it slow and easy can keep you from getting cold and damp, and also keep you from huffing large quantities of freezing air. Sometimes our trails are snowed under, but it can be a big challenge (and fun) just to ride to the trailhead when the ground is snowy. Riding in just a couple inches of fresh powder snow is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 979 other followers

