Recon Planned–Ashland, MA


Tomorrow I’m heading to Ashland, MA to check out the course for the Mud, Sweat and Gears Duathlon.  I’m doing this for a few reasons.

1.) I’m prone to anxiety–and knowing where a place is and how to get there makes me less anxious.

2.) I want to see what I’m up against.  I don’t think it will be impossible, but having an idea of what the course is like can mentally prepare me for the day.

3.) Gail is eager for course info too–she has concerns about the terrain.

I scanned the blogosphere and rest of the internet for some info on the course–I got very little.  I emailed the race director and got half a sentence for an answer:

” you will be on trails through out the park… its single trail rolling one good hill..”

Not a very thorough description.

Also, I’m checking out the course on my girlfriend’s brand new Raleigh Mountain Bike.  Disc brakes, just tuned up, but–no clipless pedals.  My mountain bike is in the shop basically getting a new transmission.  My chain, cassette, chain ring all getting replaced.  The mechanic said the bike was in excellent shape otherwise, which thwarts my inclination to get a new mountain bike altogether.  So I’ll have an old favorite with new components for the event. 

The other upgrade I’m considering for the race is a little birthday present of new shoes and clipless pedals.  Probably not the brightest idea to change pedals entirely before an event–but I am tempted to just go for it.  Any recommendations for clipless pedals for a female mountain biker?  I’d be interested in hearing some.

I’ll be back in a day or two with my course report from Ashland.  Hopefully checking things out will settle my nerves….

-Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

3 responses to “Recon Planned–Ashland, MA”

  1. Leah says :

    Course recon = smart move. You will not be sorry.

    Not sure I’d switch out pedals/shoes before the race, unless you get some quality time with them. As for a recommendation, I like SPDs on my mountain bike. Not fancy, but they do the trick.

  2. Karen says :

    I currently use speedplay frogs. I have speedplay for the road bike too–and clip in & out no problem. The frogs I can never get into fast enough when I’m remounting quickly. I’m ready for a change.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posts about Mountain Bikes as of September 22, 2009 | Mountain Bikes - September 22, 2009

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 964 other followers

