Running Vs. Riding


OK, my last post:  a little angry.  The rain has been depressing.  My apologies.  I’m usually much more cheery :)  A positive by-product of the terrible weather is that I’ve taken up running again, something I’ve done on & off since high school (3 years Varsity track).  I don’t particularly care for running, but I cannot deny it’s benefits.

So I’ve been mixing it up.  Mostly because I feel safer running in the rain then riding in it, since my first real crash on wet pavement last fall.

Running has it’s pros.  It requires little equipment–just a good pair of running shoes.  Prep time is less than 5 minutes.  The workout is quicker.  The results in fitness and weight loss seem quicker too.

On the con side, and this is a matter of opinion: it’s dull and monotonous.  I get tired of running around my immediate neighborhood pretty quickly.  I sweat more running, probably because I don’t run fast enough for the sweat to evaporate from my skin.  And it’s hard.  There’s no coasting in running.  You can’t sit up and rest on the downhills.  You just have to keep placing one foot in front of the other.

Riding’s pros are the speed, the varied terrain, the scenery, and the experience.  I feel like I’m going somewhere when I’m riding, because I can go further than I can on foot.  Cons are the prep time to get ready (pump tires, equipment check) and the gear involved (special shorts, jersey, shoes, water bottle, snacks, tools, Co2, maps, cell phone–the list goes on).    Plus, it feels like a good workout is a two or three hour time investment.  This is a particularly tough aspect for me–I am not a person with oodles of free time.  But I love to ride, so I make the time.

The bottom line is that I want to stay in shape, so I use these two workouts to meet that goal.  But I have to admit–I feel I’m getting more out of running than riding these days, despite my negative feeling toward running.

So–what do you think?  Running or Riding?  What do you find more beneficial?  What do you enjoy more?  Which is the better workout?

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

3 responses to “Running Vs. Riding”

  1. Leah says :

    I definitely get more bang for the buck with running. My overall fitness is so much greater now that I’m running regularly. But the bike gives me something else that running doesn’t. So I think of them as partners and try not to think of one as better than the other. Make sense?

    • Karen says :

      It does make sense. I think adding running to my workouts is also good because I use different muscles running. But I think the speed of the workout it really one of the best features of running. A good workout in a short timeframe really fits much better into my life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posts about Weight Loss as of August 3, 2009 - August 3, 2009

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

