Kinda, Sorta, A Brick


June was a bad month for me.  Everything else in life was great–but as far as getting a workout in?  Forget it.  Sure, I went mountain biking a couple times in Colorado, and once with my SCAG Ladies group, but I only got on the road bike once.  Once!  The rain is partly to blame, my crazy busy schedule, and my Internet Marketing class I’m taking at UMASS/Amherst (done officially July 9th….in the home stretch!)  Last week I even went running instead of riding, because of the thunderstorms that have plagued the northeast for the last 2 months. 

As a result, I’ve felt awful.  I’ve put three pounds on.  I’m cagey.  I miss my bike, I miss the road.  I want to hurt for three days after a workout I miss it so bad.  And today, my day off the forecast calls for…..

You guessed it!  Thunderstorms!

Screw this, I thought.  I have had it.  I filled the water bottle, pumped the tires and headed out under threatening skies.  I rode a short & sweet 19 miles, with just a few sprinkles.  My speed was fast (for me) considering I have barely been riding.  On the flats I maintained 20mph easily.  My average for the ride was 15 (I have a hilly route).  An idea crept into my brain somewhere on the road. 

What if I went running today too?

I ran last with consistency when I was 30 years old.  I trained for, and ran, a 5 mile road race.  It was my way of thumbing my nose at turning 30–a little birthday present for my self-esteem. I don’t even enjoy running.  I find it an arduous chore.  Pointless.  Dull.  Boring.  Running should be done only if you are running after something, or running from something.  Otherwise, why do it? (other than to spite your age)

I returned home from my ride.  I logged my miles on bike journal.  I checked my email.  I checked my snail mail.  I changed my shirt, strapped on my running shoes and headed out the door.  I wasn’t really tired from 19 miles of riding, this should be no big deal.

The first 200 yards sucked.  I mean I was like “wtf am I doing this for?”  That was that little hill right near my house.  After that, I settled down.  I didn’t run long, about a mile and 1/2, but when I got home I was psyched.  Happy.  I’d never done a “brick.”  And it wasn’t exactly easy.  But I’m thinking this might be the little ass-kicking I need to push myself athletically.  I’m not training for a triathlon.  I just want my waistline back.  So maybe a brick a week?  With longer distances for both the riding and the running and no email checks in between.  

Sounds good to me.

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

2 responses to “Kinda, Sorta, A Brick”

  1. Glenn_in_MA says :

    I had a “I have had it” moment last night that also resulted in an exceptional ride…but no running for me, yet!

  2. Leah says :

    Sorry I’ve been MIA for a while. Congrats on “running off the bike!” I find that the first five minutes or so of running after riding is painful, but riding gets my legs so warmed up that I can easily get into a groove and feel pretty good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 938 other followers

