Preferential Treatment


I discovered my bike had a flat Monday night, and since I lack the training to replace a simple tube, I needed to bring it into the LBS.  Business travel and a full work schedule prevented me from getting it into the shop before Thursday.  I needed a tune up anyway.

ME: “What’s the turn around time?”

MECHANIC: “We’re looking at the middle of next week.”

ME: “Oh.  OK.”  I accepted this as part of the deal.  Of course, it’s spring now, their busy season.  The bike mechanic must have sensed my disappointment.  And he recognizes me now, since after shuffling around between 3 shops, I’m using this one a bit more lately.

MECHANIC:  “I could probably get it to you for the weekend though.  You’re a real cyclist, and a lot of these bikes are barely ridden all year long.  Most of them don’t even need a tune up.”

I got my bike Friday evening, 24 hours later.  And that LBS gets my business from now on. 

I rode 27 miles today.  Thank you Mr. Bike Mechanic.

–Karen (a bona fide “real” cyclist…lol!)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

3 responses to “Preferential Treatment”

  1. Glenn_in_MA says :

    That’s my type of LBS too!

    After years of giving my business to a shop where I would just be thrown in the queue and even have to wait a few days just to have a spoke replaced, I decided to try the other shop in town…now my go to shop. When I bring my bike in, they ASK me when I need it back! I just never gave it much thought that there was a different approach to LBS service. Live and learn.

  2. Jonathan says :

    Nice! And liking the 27 miles, too. Looking like a good year.

  3. Leah says :

    Love it! Of course you are a real cyclist. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 964 other followers

