The Biggest Loser Breaks Out The Trek Bikes


Every Tuesday during the harsh winter months, I spin on the trainer, and watch NBC’s the Biggest Loser.  It’s become a little ritual of mine, and I find watching other people struggle through their workouts helps me struggle through my own. 

Tonight’s Biggest Loser “Challenge” was two teams, and 24 hours on Trek Bikes–all on the trainer.  The thought of going 24 hours on the trainer is crushing to me mentally….because I can barely get 45 minutes in without losing my soul.  These contestants were blessed with ignorance, and performed admirably.  The Blue team came in at 264 miles in 24 hours, and the Black team won the challenge at 301.9 miles.  Members of the Black team won custom made Trek Bicycles for their efforts as well.

I thought this was a pretty smooth PR move on Trek’s behalf–they appeal to a market of Americans who are interested in losing weight, being more fit, and what’s easier than riding a bike?  Heck that’s even enjoyable.  And they insert their brand name in front of a load of people who are interested in pursuing fitness on some level….just as Spring is about to hit.  Brilliant.  Not to mention Trek is coming off a HUGE win at the Tour of California with Levi Leipheimer winning for the third time in a row.  Kudos to Trek….your marketing and corporate communications departments deserve a little pat on the back.  Smart business, and good bikes.  Two of my favorite subjects.

Looking forward to next Tuesday on the trainer….

–Karen

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Karen

When I was 10, I used to think I was the bionic woman.

2 responses to “The Biggest Loser Breaks Out The Trek Bikes”

  1. Leah says :

    Wow. 24 hours on the trainer. Couldn’t do it. Wouldn’t. Well, maybe if they paid me. A lot.

  2. Karen says :

    I couldn’t do it either. I don’t think I’ve logged that over the entire winter. It’s just too dull!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 963 other followers

