The Ice Shredder: Ride All Winter Long?



Nokia296
Originally uploaded by sipclip&go

When at the bike shop yesterday, the mechanic inquired if I mountain biked at all. Hell yeah, I said, and we compared notes on local trails. He rides some of the same ones I do. He joked, fishing a bit “I can put some studded tires on for you!” Not me, but meet my friend Heather, co-blogger, who has been expressing an interest in this for years now. He said the shop does organized rides and goes all winter long: ice & all. The only time it wasn’t fun was when the snow got more than 4 or 5 inches deep, so I guess I’m too late for studded tires–about a foot fell last night. Is this type of riding any good? Or is it scary as hell? I like a little adrenaline once in a while, but I also don’t want to look like I’m auditioning for the next Jack-Ass Movie. What do you think?  –Karen

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Ice Shredder: Ride All Winter Long?”

  1. Heather says :

    My sister and I hiked at Chesterfield yesterday, and under all the snow was ice. As I was trudging through the white stuff, I was wondering about studded tires for the bike. Did they have those tires in stock? I have to go finish Christmas shopping at my local bike shop (no, not for me), maybe they will have some. I can reward myself for all my good behavior. Sorry, no details available.

  2. Karen says :

    He seemed to indicate having them in stock by offering to put them on–my guess is yes. This was my favorite bike shop in Holyoke–Highland Hardward & Bike. They are cool there.

    Since when do you do “good behavior?”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 938 other followers

